Event Details

  • July 20, 2017
  • 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
  • $10
  • suggested donation


  • First Congregational Church UCC
  • 345 W. Michigan Avenue
  • Kalamazoo, MI 49007
  • 269-382-3640

Event Description

THE SYNDICATE FOR THE NEW ARTS is excited to present a program of new music in their Summer 2017 Rust Belt Tour. Through their recent Call for Scores, the Syndicate has created connections with composers, collaborators, and friends. Of these new connections, they have worked closely with six amazing composers this summer to develop works specifically for the ensemble. The Syndicate is a modular chamber ensemble that is reimagining contemporary music through creative concert presentation, educational engagement, and a focus on building relationships with composers and audience members. As the ensemble in residence at the historic St. John’s Episcopal Church in Ohio City, the Syndicate’s team works closely with local artists and hosts visiting artists for performances, workshops, and other collaborations. Additionally, the Syndicate performs at art galleries and clubs, and runs a series of creative music workshops with the Cleveland Public Library. http://www.thesyndicatecle.org/ Music from: Carolyn Chen Jonah Haven Christian James Anthony Vine Bethany Younge Carrie Zinn Performers: Joshua Rosner - guitar Caitlin Mehrtens - harp Noelle Marty - double bass Justin Gunter - percussion Ben Rempel - percussion JOO WON PARK (b.1980) wants to make everyday sound beautiful and strange so that everyday becomes beautiful and strange. He performs live with toys, consumer electronics, kitchenware, vegetables, and other non-musical objects by digitally processing their sounds. He also makes pieces with field recordings, sine waves, and any other sources that he can record or synthesize. Joo Won draws inspirations from Florida swamps, Philadelphia skyscrapers, his two sons, and other soundscapes surrounding him. He has studied at Berklee College of Music and the University of Florida, and currently serves as an Assistant Professor of Music Technology at the Wayne State University. Joo Won’s music and writings are available on ICMC DVD, Spectrum Press, MIT Press, PARMA, Visceral Media, MCSD, SEAMUS CD Series, and No Remixes labels. http://joowonpark.net/

Event presented by: