Election 2013: Battle Creek City Commission

Oct 30, 2013

Battle Creek City Hall - file photo
Credit WMUK


18 candidates are seeking nine seats on the Battle Creek City Commission this year. 

All of the incumbents are running for re-election except for Vice-Mayor Elizabeth Fulton, who represents Battle Creek's fourth ward. 

Battle Creek Enquirer reporter Jennifer Bowman has covered the election. She spoke with WMUK's Gordon Evans. 

Six candidates are seeking at-large seats, including the four incumbents Mayor Susan Baldwin, Andy Hemboldt, Mark Behnke and David Walters. The two challengers seeking at-large seats are Kaytee Faris and John Kenefick. 

In the first ward Mary Lou Ramon is running for re-election against former commissioner Deborah Owens. Owens is also a former City Clerk, who narrowly lost to Ramon last year. 

In the second ward, incumbent Lynn Ward Gray faces challenger Beverli Carpenter-Hunter

In the third ward, incumbent Sherry Sofia faces four challengers: Mark Jones, Devon GibsonDean Newsome and Johnny Cash. 

There will be a new commissioner to represent the fourth ward since Elizabeth Fulton is not seeking another two year term. Mike Sherzer and Ryan Lothschultz

Jeffrey Domenico is running unopposed in the firth ward. 

Coverage of a candidate forum from the Battle Creek Enquirer