Election 2013: Kalamazoo City Commission

Oct 30, 2013

Kalamazoo City Commission forum at WMU's Fetzer Center
Credit WMUK

Voters in Kalamazoo will elect at least one new member to the city commission this November. Six incumbents and nine challengers are on the ballot. 

Vice Mayor Hannah McKinney chose not to run for another two year term. But Mayor Bobby Hopewell, along with Commissioners Don Cooney, David Anderson, Barbara Hamilton Miller, Stephanie Moore and Robert Cinabro are running for re-election. 

Challengers are: Fred Lee Lawrence II, Birletta Bean-Hardeman, Jack C. Urban, Tracy Hall, Rico White, E. Allen Hayes, Jeffrey Weisman, Mike Perrin and Nicholas Boyd. 

All of the candidates except Bean-Hardeman participated in a candidate forum at Western Michigan University on October 29th. It was sponsored by the Stuart, Vine and West Main Hill Neighborhood Associations along with WMU's Institute for Government and Politics. 

Read the Kalamazoo Gazette's coverage of the Kalamazoo City Commission election

League of Women Voters Kalamazoo area Voters' Guide