APA Competition Special

Candice Agree

The American Pianists Association (APA) and the WFMT Radio Network are pleased to present this four-part radio series showcasing the competition finalists for the APA’s 2013 Classical Fellowship Awards. Billed as “Classical Discovery Week,” the finals took place from April 15-April 20 in Indianapolis, home of the APA.  This year's finalists – Sean Chen, Sara Daneshpour, Claire Huangci, Andrew Staupe and Eric Zuber –participated in a plethora of public, adjudicated concerts: solo recitals; chamber music with the Linden String Quartet; APA-commissioned premieres of new music by five prominent women composers (Lisa Bielawa, Margaret Brouwer, Gabriela Lena Frank, Missy Mazzoli and Sarah Kirkland Snider); a song recital with soprano Jessica Rivera; and concerto performances with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra under Gerard Schwarz.In the end, one finalist was named the APA’s 2013 Christel DeHaan Classical Fellow: a musician with the potential to make significant contributions to American cultural life.