6:22 am
Thu July 17, 2014

Republicans Use Spy Glasses to Get Video of Schauer Fundraiser

Lead in text: 
Democrat's campaign calls it a "dirty trick." Republicans say practice is common for both parties
Detroit For the third time this year, Democratic gubernatorial candidate Mark Schauer is accusing Republicans of attempting to spy on his campaign. But this time, the suspected political subterfuge involves a high-tech hidden camera and a video memory disk that fell into the hands of Democrats. And Republicans are defending their campaign snooping.
6:15 am
Thu July 17, 2014

Candidates Use Own Money to Boost Fundraising Totals

Lead in text: 
Third Congressional District challenger Brian Ellis is among those who have made substantial loans to his own campaign
LANSING, MI - The candidates who top the amount of money in contributions are also those who put significant amounts of their own money into their bids. That's according to campaign finance reports were due for federal elections late Tuesday. In several top Republican primaries, there were several candidates who donated large amounts of money to their election bids.
8:50 pm
Tue July 15, 2014

National Poll Indicates Tighter Race for Governor, but Other Surveys Show Snyder Holding Lead

Lead in text: 
Various political websites have the Michigan governor's race as "Leans Republican" or "Toss up"
LANSING, MI -- A new national poll shows the gap between Republican Gov. Rick Snyder and challenger former Democratic U.S. Rep. Mark Schauer may be closing. The poll, conducted for NBC News, shows that, if the election were held today, 46 percent of registered voters would back Snyder, while 44 percent would vote for Schauer.
8:45 pm
Tue July 15, 2014

New Poll Shows Amash Maintaining Lead over Ellis in Congressional Primary

Lead in text: 
Survey by Grand Rapids-based Strategic National similar to other independent polls of race
GRAND RAPIDS, MI - With three weeks to go before the August primary, challenger Brian Ellis faces an upward battle against U.S. Rep. Justin Amash, should new poll numbers verify. The poll, conducted by Grand Rapids-based Strategic National, shows 47 percent of likely primary voters would choose Amash, while about 24 percent would back Ellis - a 23 point lead.
8:38 pm
Tue July 15, 2014

Public Can Meet Candidates at Kalamazoo Gazette This Week

Lead in text: 
Candidates in contested primaries have been invited
  • Source: Mlive
  • | Via: Kalamazoo Gazette
KALAMAZOO, MI - The Kalamazoo Gazette is hosting primary candidates for county and state races during meet the candidates night events on Wednesday and Thursday. The event for candidates seeking state office will be held at the Kalamazoo Gazette hub, 306 S. Kalamazoo Mall, from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.